The All Progressive Congress has inaugurated a 23 man committee on true federalism.

The inauguration was held at the party’s national headquarters in Abuja and performed by the national chairman, John Odigie Oyegun.

The members of the committee are:
Nasiru El-Rufai – Chairman, Olubunmi Adetunbi – Secretary, Rauf Aregbesola – Member, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu – Member‎,Abdullahi Ganduje- Member, Simon Lalong- Member,‎ Yahaya Bello – Member‎, Mohammed Abubakar – Member,‎ Sullivan Chime- Member, Kashim Ibrahim- Member,‎ Osita Izunaso- Member, Bolaji Abdullahi- Member,Ogbonnaya Onu- Member, Aisha Al-Hassan- Member, Aisha Ismail – Member, Sharon Ikeazor- Member, Rachael Akpabio- Member,Ismail Ahmed – Member, Oserheimen Osunbor- Member, Fati Bala – Member,Jasper Azuatalem – Member, Rinsola Abiola – Member,‎ and Stella Dorgu – Member.

Oyegun recalled that one of the core negotiating points by the political parties that merged to form the APC was the need for true federalism.

“This is why the constitution of our great party and its manifesto dwelled extensively on the promise of true federalism. It is therefore incongruous that our party will renege on our solemn commitment to the institutionalisation of true federalism in our national political life.” he said

He informed members of the committee that their job is very sensitive and critical, particularly coming at a time the clamour for restructuring, devolution of power and fiscal federalism, resource control has intensified.

“The APC Constitution and the Manifesto that was vigorously canvassed during the general elections and on which platform our great party got elected has elaborately stated our position on these issues. The party position has been eloquently restated in the terms of reference of this committee which you all already have” he said


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here