Chairman of Imo APC Congress Committee, Senator Kabiru Gaya has explained why the national secretariat of the party is conducting another ward, Local Government and State Congresses in the party in the State.


The APC had announced new dates for another congress in the State which attracted the rage of Imo APC Stakeholders Coalition which had emerged victorious at the congress held two months ago.

An Owerri Federal High Court had nullified the Congress.

Speaking to party members in Owerri in preparation for the fresh ward, Local Government and State Congresses, Chairman of the Congress Committee, Senator Kabiru Gaya said it is based on a court order which cancelled the previous congress.


“Our party believes in justice and fair play. There was a petition and even a Court matter. Our Chairman Comrade Oshiomhole insisted we must wait and get the ruling of the Court. The Court has ruled that we should come back and do another ward, local government and State Congresses”.


“We are here now as a law abiding party to do that. I have seen the zeal of the people and this has demonstrated that the heart of the APC in the South-East is in Imo State. We are here to give all party faithful a level playing ground to participate in a free and credible Congress”.


Earlier in his remarks, Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha said commended the Congress committee for coming to the State for the Congress.

” You have come to dramatize the essence of democracy which we have cried for many months now. These are the people that make up APC. The story of APC in Imo State is quite different from the story of APC anywhere else. Here are the masses. Here are the people and they deliver on the day of election”

The event took place at the International Conference Centre, ICC, in Owerri

The Congress Committee members are Senator Kabiru Gaya (Chairman), Barr. Henry Idahagbon (Secretary), Aji Kolo Lawan (Member), Engr. Yakubu Abdulkadin (Member), M.S. Ayo Alli Balogun (Member), Hon. Kassim Muhammad Kassim and Hon. Isa Song (Member), while the State Congress Committee are, Mutalubi Ojo Adesayo (Chairman), Lawan Ken-Ken (Secretary), Hon. Ayo Omederan (Member), Hon. Amiru Suleman (Member) and Alhaji Sha’aibu Musa (Member).

The Appeal Committee members are, Ademola Sadiq (Chairman), Hon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here