The South East has been shut out from occupying any key position in the 9th National Assembly.

The Assembly will be inaugurated on June 11 in Abuja

The APC leadership had waded into the scramble for various posts by elected members and announced candidates it anointed for various positions.

It had already announced Senator Ahmed Lawan for the Senate Presidency and Hon.Femi Gbajabiamila for the Speaker, House of Representatives.

Despite “zoning” the positions to individuals, some members elect continued the jostle for the positions.

Hon.Emeka Nwajiuba, (Okigwe South, APC) is in the race for the Speakership of the House.

Barely 24 hours to the inuguration of the 9th National Assembly, the National Working Commitee, NWC of the party announced Senator Omo Agege as it’s choice for Deputy Senate President.

This has put spanners in the works for Senator Elect, Orji Uzor Kalu who was reported to be eying the position.

The position of Deputy Speaker was conceded to Malam Muhammed Wase.

In a statement by the party’s Publicity Secretary, Lanre Issa Onilu, he said the decision was taken at an emergency meeting of the NEC held in Abuja.

He said that the decision was also taken after consultations with President Muhammadu Buhari, party stakeholders, and APC State Governors.

“All elected APC members in the Senate and House of Representatives are hereby directed to fully mobilise as a united force behind the party’s choice.

” Members, who have earlier signified interests in these positions are urged to support the party’s decisions as loyal and commiteed members” Issa Onilu said in the statement.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here