Despite the defection of nine members of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, to the All Progressive Congress, APC, the Speaker of the House remains in the kitty of the opposition party.

It was unclear if Speaker Chiji Collins will decamp to the APC ostensibly in a bid to keep his job. Another source said the race for a new Speaker is ongoing.

Last week, nine members of the House, including two principal officers, the Deputy Speaker and Minority leader resigned their positions.

Majority  of those who switched parties from the PDP to the APC are mainly from Orlu and Okigwe zones.  Governor Hope Uzodinma is from Orlu zone.

The nine lawmakers from Owerri zone maintained loyalty to their party- the PDP. No one shifted to the APC.

There are strong indications that Okigwe zone will still produce the Speaker of the House presently held by Hon. Collins who is of the PDP.

Hon. Chidiebere Ogbunikpa (Okigwe) and Hon Paul Emeziem (Onuimo) who defected to the APC from the PDP are from Okigwe zone.

Also, Hon. Clement Nduka, the court installed sole APC member of the House who represents Ehime Mbano State constituency before Governor Hope Uzodinma was enthroned into office by the Supreme Court is also from Okigwe zone.

However, with the PDP still in the majority, it will be difficult for an APC member to emerge Speaker of the House except it captures more members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here