Governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State has sworn in his Commissioners and inaugurated 89 aides who will function as Special Advisers and Senior Special Assistants.

He charged the newly sworn-in Commissioners, Special Advisers and Senior Special Assistants to bring to the fore, their wealth of experience to drive the shared vision of prosperity of his administration which is anchored on the 3Rs of Rehabilitation, Reconstruction and Recovery.

Speaking at the swearing-in of Commissioners and inauguration of other appointees of his administration on Monday at the Ahiajoku International Convention Centre, Governor Uzodinma called on the appointees to see their appointments as a privilege they could not afford to abuse.

Governor Uzodinma assigned portfolios to them and urged them to hit the ground running.

He said: “It is important that you don’t take the oath of office as a mere ritual, you must take every word there seriously. You owe it a duty to Imo people and God to ensure that you don’t fail in your assignment. You are now a magnifying glass with which the public will see our government.”

He warned that he will not hesitate to sack any appointee who indulges in actions that will smear the image of the government in any form or shape.

Governor Uzodinma added: “Your actions and inactions going forward from today matters a lot. all those things you have done in the past that do not matter before, matter now. You must watch what you say or do as a government representative. Any action that is capable of bringing government to ridicule will be unacceptable to us.”

While encouraging the Commissioners, Special Advisers and Senior Special Assistants to justify the confidence reposed on them, the Governor expressed confidence that coming back from the three days retreat, “they must have been equipped with new and modern innovations that will help drive the economy of the state.”

The Governor further enjoined them to instill discipline in their places of work. His words: “You must constantly bear in mind that the only way you can instill discipline in your place of work, be it Ministry or Agency is to be an epitome of discipline yourself.”

Governor Uzodinma reiterated that welfare of Civil Servants and entire Imo work force will continue to be among the top priorities of his administration. He noted: “To this end, it is important to make it absolutely clear that I have never broken, will never break my promise of making sure that workers salaries are paid before the end of the month.”

However, he advised heads of Ministries and Agencies of Government to submit their payrolls and other relevant data on time to the adequate authorities to facilitate quick payment of their salaries.

The event was graced by the Deputy Governor, Prof. Placid Njoku, Speaker of the House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Chiji Collins, Secretary to the Government of Imo State, Chief Cosmas Iwu, members of the Federal and State House of Assembly and top Government officials (past and present) and traditional rulers.

The full list of the 23 Commissioners who have been sworn-in and assigned portfolios include:






Dr. Mrs. Damaris Osunkwo

Ministry of Health


Dr. Iyke Njoku

Ministry of Environment


Prof. B.T.O. Ikegwuoha

Ministry of Education


Raph Nwosu

Ministry of Works


Tony Umezurike

Ministry of Public Utilities


Dr. Love Ineh

Ministry of Housing


Dr. Elias Martins Emedom

Ministry of Social Welfare & Sanitation


Fabian Ihekweme

Ministry of Foreign/Int’L Affairs


Hon. Declan Emelumba

Ministry of Information & Strategy


Barr. Enyinnaya Onuegbu

Ministry of Lands


Barr. Rex Anunobi

Ministry of Transport


Engr. C.C. Osuala

Budget & Economic Planning


Hon. (Mrs.) Nkechi Ugwu

Ministry of Gender & Vulnerable Group


Hon. Daniel C. Ogu

Ministry of Youths & Social Devpt.


Dr. Lambert Orisakwe

Ministry of Agric & Natural Resources


Barr. Doris Akubuo

Ministry of Tourism & Creative Arts


Barr. Francis Dibiagwu

Ministry of Special Duties


Barr. Kingsley Ononuju

Ministry of Commerce & Industry


Hon. Noble Atulegwu

Ministry of Entrepreneurship & Skills Acquisition


Barr. C.O.C. Akolisa

Attorney-General & Commissioner for Justice


Simom Ebegbulem

Ministry of Special Project


Mrs. Obiageri Ajoku

Ministry of Livestock Development


Hon. Iyke Umeh

Ministry of Technology Development


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here