The All Progressive Congress, APC, in Imo State, has opted for a consensus approach to elect it’s flagbearer for the October 31 bye election for Okigwe Senate.

This newspaper gathered that a 9 mam committee has been set up to organize all the aspirants to produce a consensus candidate for the party.

The Committee is led by Secretary to the State Government, SGI, Cosmas Iwu, who served as Chairman , while the State Commissioner for Housing, Lady Love Ineh, serves as Secretary.

The Committee is said to have the backing of the Governor, Senator Hope Uzodinma.

Sources said the move is aimed at ensuring that the aspirants do not spend so much and in the end, one person will emerge as candidate.

All the aspirants seeking to be candidate of the party in the bye election attended the meeting and endorsed the idea.

APC do have the highest number of aspirants in the election.

However, Senator Ifeanyi Araraume was absent at the meeting.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here