There are rumbles in the All Progressive Congress, APC, over the Okigwe Senate bye election.

The consensus option, to choose a flagbearer of the party,is generating fuss, as a faction of the party led by Daniel Nwafor, are resisting the plan.

Before now, Nwafor had consistently claimed to be the state executives of Imo APC, a development which has put it on war path with the caretaker committee led by Marcellinus Nlemigbo.

More than 12 aspirants are jostling for APC Okigwe senate ticket. Majority of them have aligned with the consensus option except Senator Ifeanyi Araraume who is said to be opposed to the idea.

Analysts contend that some forces in APC particularly Governor Hope Uzodinma is not disposed to the Senator going back to the Senate as Senator for Okigwe zone.

Araraume seems entrapped over the consensus option to select the Party’s candidate for Okigwe zone, a move said to be designed to keep him out of the contest.

He had recently secured a waiver from the national leadership of the party to take part in the contest having rejoined the APC from APGA after a futile Governorship bid.

Analysts say he alongside the Madueke faction may go to court to challenge the consensus arrangement, a development which may put spanners in the works for the party concerning the Okigwe senate seat.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here