The apex organization that governs all Imo State Students schooling home and in diaspora known as National Association of Imo State Students (NAISS) has conducted her 2021 National election to usher in new executive.

The election was held on Wednesday 21st July at Imo State Youth center Owerri under the full supervision of security agencies ranging from DSS, police, SA to Governor Hope Uzodimma on Youth Affairs, Hon. Eric Uwakwe, former SSA to the Governor on Students Affairs, Hon. Frankly Aparaji, former National Association Nigeria Students(NANS) Zone B coordinator, Comr. Okereke Godson(Bishop), NAISS BoT and host of other officials.

The election was conducted by 11 man electoral committee led by Comr.
Emejuru Thaddeus C. of AlFCE as Chairman, Comr. Favour Amanda of IMSU (Vice Chairman), Comr. Anaebo Bismarck of IMSU (Secretary), Comr. James Justin of UNICAL (Assistant Secretary), Comr. Eluchie Osita of Imo Poly (Financial Secretary), Comr. Amuchie Leeyoung of FedPolyNek (PRO), Comr. Anyanwu Esther of FECOLART (PRO2), Comr. Nganwuchu Victor of FUTO (Provost), Comr. Ekeocha Chidiebere of FedPolyNek (Contact and Mobilization.1), Comr. Iwuogu Wisdom I. of Imo Poly (Contact and Mobilization 2) and Comr. Vuga Henry C. of UNIZIK as Member of the committee.

Commencing the electoral processes, the electoral Chairman announced that NAISS Constitution made the election a delegate based election and the delegates shall come from the various campuses of NAISS chapters. He furthered that each chapter of NAISS is obligated to produce eight delegates while the outgoing National executive, contestants and Students Union Government (SUG) President of institutions within the State who are from Imo State are automatic delegates of NAISS National election.

The 2021 NAISS election recorded 28 NAISS chapters in participation like Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Federal College of Land Resources Technology Owerri, Michael Opara University of Agriculture Umudike, Nwafor Orizu College of Education Nsugbe, Imo state Polytechnic Umuagwo, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University of Anambra State, Enugu State University of Science and Technology(Esut), Federal Polytechnic Nekede Owerri, University of Nigeria Enugu Campus, University of Nigeria Nsukka, Ebonyi State University Abakiliki.

Others are University of Calabar, Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education Owerri, University of Uyo, Yabatech Lagos, Abia State University Uturu, Federal University of Technology Owerri, Benson Idahosa University Benin, Heritage University Eket, Imo State College of Health and Management Sciences Amaigbo, Imo State college of Education Ihitte Uboma, Temple Gate Polytechnic Aba, Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu Alike Ikwo, Abia State Polytechnic, Federal College of Health Technology Ikwo Ebonyi, Federal College of Agriculture Ishiagu Ebonyi, Imo State University Owerri and University of Port Harcourt.

The election had 24 contestants from different campuses of NAISS chapters who contested for various positions of NAISS National body while 18 emerged victorious, and the winners are Comr. Umukoro Marvis of Imo Poly who emerged as NAISS National President, Comr.Alfred Jacinta of UNIYO as NAISS Senate President, HRM Eze Comr. Orji Ifeanyi Emeka of FedPolyNek as Imo students EzeNdiEze.

Other winners are Comr. Paul Miracle (Vice President Internal Affairs/ Special Duties), Comr.Victoria Gabriel (Vice President External Affairs), Comr. Okehielam Clinton .O(Secretary General),
Comr. Asika Marvelous Oluebube(PRO),
Comr. Emenalo Sopuruchi .V(Treasurer), Comr. Odor Justin .C(Financial Secretary), Comr. Amadi Christopher .O (Director of Contact and Mobilization),
Comr. Amuzienwa Chibuike .T(Director for Welfare), Comr. Nwachukwu Alexander Chiazokam(Director for Health), Comr. Ikechi Valentine .C (Director for Sports), Comr. Njoku Kingsley (Director for Socials), Comr. Nwogu Peter Chizitere (Director for Transport), Igbokwugha Kingsley .K(National Provost), HRH Eze Comr. Dimonye Michael (Deputy Eze ndi Eze Orlu Zone) and HRH Eze Comr. Anyanwu Casmir .I(Deputy Eze ndi Eze Owerri Zone).

Speaking shortly after the election, the outgoing National President of NAISS, Comr. Anyaoha Tochi .C, NAISS outgoing Senate President, Comr. Dominion Emmanuel and the BoT Chairman, Comr. Sabinus Nwachukwu, respectively, expressed joy over the peacefulness, free and fair election conducted and they congratulated the winners.

In his remark, the SA to the Governor on Youth Affairs, Hon. Eric Uwakwe congratulated the newly elected executive, charged them to uplift the association by ensuring all inclusive administration and students favourable policies while assuring them of government corporation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here