Two Senators from Imo State, Senator Rochas Okorocha (Imo West, APC) and Senator Frank Ibezim (Imo East, APC) abstained from voting for or against electronic transmission of election results on the floor of the Red Chambers of the Senate.

Nigerian Senators had on Thursday denied the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC the power to transmit results of elections electronically.

Rather, lawmakers empowered the Nigeria Communications Commission, NCC and the National Assembly to determine the use of electronic transmission in an election.

From list of senators seen to have voted for or against the ammendment, only the name of Senator Ezenwa Onyewuchi (PDP, Imo East) from Imo State, voted in the process.

He voted “Yes”, supporting electronic transmission of results.

A total of 52 senators voted in favour of granting powers to the NCC and NASS while 28 voted against it.

A total of 28 Senators were absent during the voting process.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here