The race for 2023 Owerri zone Senatorial seat and other elective posts in the zone, has taken a new dimension, with emphasis placed on age as a criteria to elect the next Senator for the zone.


Owerri Zone Patriots, OZP, a leading socio political organization in Owerri zone, has set the age limit for the next Senator for the Zone to be 50 years.

The OZP, in it’s resolution signed by its Coordinator, Arch John Igwe, said the youths in “Owerri zone have resolved not be onlookers anymore in the political space in the zone, but become partakers by choosing those it will elect into public office in 2023. And we, in the OZP completely align with this declaration.

“Based on the foregoing and as part of our resolve to encourage and support active youths participation in the next political dispensation, we have pegged the age for the next Senator for Owerri zone at 50 years. This is in consonance with the Not Too Young To Run Law as enshrined in the Nigerian Constitution.

 “Those who seek to be elected as Members of the House of Representatives from the zone in 2023 should not exceed 40 years, while those seeking House of Assembly seats, should be within the age bracket of 30-35 years” part of the OZP resolution read

The group called on the leading political parties in Imo state, the All Progressive Congress, APC, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and the All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA, to concede their Senatorial, House of Reps and House of Assembly tickets in Owerri zone to aspirants who fall in their age prescription.

 “It is time the youths cease political power in Owerri zone and we in OZP will not pay lip service to it.

“We call on Owerri sons and daughters in the zone, either in the Senate, House of Representatives and in the State Assembly, whose ages do not fall in our specified categories to forget about seeking re election in 2023” the group stated.

The resolution of the group, may have put spanners in the works for Senator Ezenwa Onyewuchi, who represents Owerri zone in the senate. He is 54 years old. He was born on 2nd April, 1968.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here