Despite the inclusion of former Governor of Imo State, Senator Rochas Okorocha and Senator Ifeanyi Araraume, as statutory delegates from Imo State chapter of the All Progressives Congress, APC to the National Convention, allies of the duo were completely shut out from the 3 man delegates list selected from each of the 27 local government chapters of the party to the convention.

The APC National Convention, is scheduled to hold on Saturday, March 26 in Abuja.

This newspaper observed that aides, allies, loyalists and political associates, appointees of Governor Hope Uzodimma dominated the list.

Members of the Imo State House of Assembly of APC membership, including the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker were also listed as delegates to the National Convention.

However, some members of the House of Representatives from the State, such as Hon Paschal Obi, Hon Kingsley Uju and Hon Ugonna Ozuruigbo, who are members of Okorocha’s political family, made the list as statutory delegates .

Minister of State for Education, Hon Emeka Nwajiuba, former Deputy Governor of Imo State, Prince Eze Madumere, were also listed as statutory delegates.

The composition of the present Imo APC delegates list to the National Convention, especially the 3 man delegates from each of the Local Government in the State, underscores the fact that Uzodimma remains in charge and in control of the party in the state, despite protestations put up by Chima Nwafor, who leads a faction of the party strongly backed by Senator Rochas Okorocha.

Nwafor and co have continued to insist that they are the authentic leadership of the APC in Imo State, citing an Appeal Court judgement which ruled in its favour in 2018. The matter is before the Supreme Court, which is expected to give verdict on the matter in May, 2022.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here