Contrary to reports in the media that fight broke out among members of the Social Democratic Party, SDP, in Imo State during its congresses in Owerrri, the party said nothing of such took place and it successfully elected its officers at the ward, Local Government and State Congresses.

Publicity Secretary of the party, Comrade Eze Adiuku, in a statement said the party elected Prince Okoroaforanyanwu as its new State Chairman on Tuesday, April 2022 and concluded its ward, local Government and State Congresses

According to the statement, the congresses which took place at the Villa Maria Hall of St Mulumba Catholic Parish, Owerri were carried out under a very harmonious and peaceful atmosphere with a delegation from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) led by Dr. Mrs. Ijeoma that observed proceedings. 

In his remarks, new Imo state SDP chairman, Prince Marshal Okaforanyanwu while thanking the over 450 delegates present at the congress, expressed optimism that SDP will win all elective seats in the forthcoming general elections in Imo state.

He charged all the elected ward LGA and state officers to move into the nooks and crannies of the state and reassure Imo people that the party to liberate them has come 

Other  elected state executive committee members are: Barr. Charris Ukanwa as state Deputy Chairman, Benjamin Anochie as State Secretary, Mrs. Franca Ukanwa as State Woman Leader, Comr. Chukwubuikem Samuel as State Youth Leader, Barr. Paschal Ogbonna as State Organizing secretary, Barr. O. Ugo as State Financial Secretary, Friday Obasi as State Welfare Secretary, Hon. Eze Adiukwu as State Publicity Secretary, Lambert Amadi as State Treasurer, Barr. Gerald Olemgbe as State Legal Adviser, Paschal Nwogu as State Labour and Civil Society Secretary, Mrs. Grace Chukwuma as State Auditor, Barr. Timothy Nwaneri as Assistant State Legal Adviser, Iheme Rowland Uchenna as Assistant State Financial Secretary, Mrs. Augustina Nwachukwu as State Assistant Organizing Secretary, Comr. Leona Ubah as Assistant State Welfare Officer, Pat Oforegbu as Orlu Zonal Vice Chairman, Eli Eke as Owerri Zonal Vice Chairman, Dr. Emmanuel Nwanegbo as Ex-officio, Nnamdi I. Akwuruoha as Assistant State Labour and Civil Society Secretary, Comr. Stanley Orah as State Deputy Youth Leader and Sam Eke as Okigwe Zonal Vice Chairman.

All the  elected state executive committee members were sworn in immediately.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here