Imo Guber 2019: 33 Governorship Aspirants Emerge

by admin

About 33 governorship aspirants cut across five political parties have signaled their interest to become Imo State Governor in 2019.


The number is likely to increase in the coming months.

The All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA have the highest number of governorship aspirants as about 20 Imo sons are enveloped in the party hoping to emerge the party’s flagbearer and hopefully Governor of the State.

Some of the aspirants who have declared their ambition on the platform of APGA are ex banker Chief.Okey Ezeh,  former member House of Representatives,Hon Uche Onyeagocha, “One Million Man March For Abacha” xxponent Daniel Kanu, former APGA national officer Barr Steve Nwoga, former Social Democratic Party 2015 Imo ststae governorship candidate Dr. Captain David Mbamala, a  former commissioner of Health in Imo State Dr Obi Njoku,former Commissioner of Lands and Urban Planning Barr. Charles Onyeagbako, former Commissioner of Internal Generated Revenue (IGR) in Imo State, Chief Nick Oparandudu, Founder Associated Bus Company (ABC Transport) Mr Frank Nneji,  a legal practitioner Bar Humphrey Anumudu, Senator Bright Nwanne, Barrister Phillip Ibekwe and former Chairman Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission,Dr Sam Amadi

From the Social Democratic Party, SDP comes Mr. Collins Osuagwu. The Maja party has London trained lawyer, Aloysious Osuji as its sole governorship aspirant. In the All Progressive Congress, APC, the number of governorship aspirants has risen to seven. They are the Imo State Deputy Governor, Eze Madumere and Chief of Staff, Government House, Owerri Uche Nwosu. Both of them are yet to publicly declare their ambitions but have commenced underground moves to actualize their ambitions. Nwosu got Okorocha’s nod to proceed with his ambition last week.

Hon. Chike Okafor who represents Ehime Mbano/Ihitte Uboma/Obowo Federal Constituency has been touted to be interested in the governorship race. However, he is likely to shelve his ambition considering his recent statement that he cannot contest against Uche Nwosu whom he described as his bossom friend.

Former Secretary to Government of Imo State, Sir Jude Ejiogu is also in the governorship race on the platform of the All Progressive Congress.

Senator Ifeanyi Araraume has not hidden his ambition to become Imo State Governor. He is of the All Progressive Congress, APC. Also in the contest on the APC platform is Mr. Chima Anozie (Home Base), a former General Manager of Imo ENTRACO and one time House of Assembly aspirant on the platform of the defunct All Nigeria Peoples Party, ANPP. Last week, a retired Air Force Officer, Air Commodore Peter Gbujie declared his ambition to become Imo State Governor on the platform of the APC.

The Peoples Democratic Party PDP have four governorship aspirants. They are a former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt Hon Emeka Ihedioha, former Imo State Governor, Ikedi Ohakim, Senator Athan Achonu and Imo State born Hon.Tony Nwulu who represents Isolo/Oshodi Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives.

Speculations are rife that Senator representing Owerri zone in the senate, Senator Samuel Anyanwu and Dr. Jude Njoku will soon join the governorship contest.

This newspaper observed that more aspirants are likely to join the contest.







Related Posts

Leave a Comment

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin