Tajudeen Abbas, the House of Representatives Member representing Zaria constituency, has emerged victorious in the race for the position of Speaker of the House of Representatives

He defeated Ahmed Idris Wase, the former Deputy Speaker of the 9th House of Representatives, and Aminu Sani Jaji.

Alhassan Ado-Doguwa, the outgoing Majority Leader of the House, took the initiative to nominate Tajudeen Abbas as the Speaker of the 10th House of Representatives. This motion was seconded by Nnolim Nnaji.

Tajudeen Abbas is the preferred candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), while Ado-Doguwa himself withdrew from the speakership race in favour of the party’s candidate. Furthermore, the ruling party has also put forward a nominee for the position of Deputy Speaker in the 10th national assembly.

However, the nomination of Abbas by the APC faced opposition from several lawmakers, including Idris Wase.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here