The three Senators elected from Imo State divided their votes in the race for Senate Presidency, which was eventually clinched by former Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Senator Godswill Akpabio.

Akpabio had defeated former governor of Zamfara State, Abdulaziz Yari, to emerge Senate President, in a keenly contested poll held on Tuesday in Abuja.

Before the election, the All Progressives Congress, APC, National Working Committee, NWC, had adopted Senator Akpabio as Senate President, Hon Tajudeen Abbas and Benjamin Kalu, as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

A full list of how the 109 Senators voted, show that the two All Progressives Congress, APC Senators from Imo State, Senator Osita Izunaso (Imo West Senatorial Zone), who withdrew from the Senate Presidency contest, eventually voted for Akpabio.

His counterpart from Imo North Senatorial zone, Senator Frank Ndubueze, also voted for Senator Akpabio.

Senator Ezenwa Onyewuchi of the Labour Party ((LP), who represents Imo East Senatorial zone, voted for Senator Yari.

This newspaper observed that majority of the votes Senator Yari got came from the opposition senators in the PDP, APGA, LP and some APC Senators, averse to the aspiration of Akpabio.

Senator Orji Uzor Kalu, who eventually backed out of the race for the Senate Presidency, voted for Yari.

The Full List Of How Senators Voted


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here