Any governorship aspirant aspiring for Imo State Governorship seat in 2019 will not receive the backing of the apex socio political group in Orlu zone, Orluzurumee.


Orlu zone is one of the three zones that make up Imo State and it has held on to power for more than 16 years by the time Governor Rochas Okorocha completes his tenure in 2019.

Owerri and Okigwe zones have been hugely shortchanged when it comes to Imo governorship. Okigwe had occupied the seat for four years through Ikedi Ohakim while Owerri zone since the inception of democracy in 1999 has not held forte the reins of governance of the State.

This clear development may have influenced the outcome of a meeting between Orluzurumee and key political leaders of Owerri and Okigwe zones held yesterday at Orlu.

Before the meeting, an APC governorship aspirant, Senator Ifeanyi Araraume had led a delegation to leaders of Orluzurmee where he drummed support for his governorship ambition and called for the restoration of the zoning system in the State.

That meeting appears to have paid off with the declaration by Orlu political leaders to hands off from the ambition of any governorship aspirant jostling for the governorship in 2019.

During the deliberations at the meeting, President General of  Oganiru Owerri, Vitalis Ajumbe pointed out that they should adopt the doctrine of necessity in choosing who becomes Governor of Imo State in 2019.

He pointed out that Owerri zone will partner with Okigwe zone to produce a candidate that is acceptable to the three zones.

He called on Orlu zone to prevail on their people to allow justice and fair play to prevail. He said the group has accepted the position that Okigwe zone produce a credible candidate that has a mass appeal for governor in 2019.

In his remarks, the President of Olu Okigwe,Chief C.C Anyanwu aligned himself with the position of Owerri zone and urged Orlu zone to support Okigwe zone to produce the next governor come 2019.

In their responses, leaders of Orluzurumee, Engr.Chime Nzeribe and Prof Francis Dike assured that they will never support an Orlu person for Governorship of Imo State come 2019.

“We are not interested in the governorship. Bring us a credible and good candidate for consideration “the PG of Orlu-Zurumee assured

Prominent sons and daughters of the zone at the gathering include Prof Francis Dike, Rt Hon Amaechi Nwoha, Rt Hon Okey Dike, Rt Hon Pharm Donatus Odoemena, Chief Ejike Uche, High Chief Anselem Udom, Ogbuagu Kenneth Obike, Engr Nwabueze Oguchienti, Guber, Prince Amaobi Ugochukwu, Hon Ugochukwu Nzekwe, Chief Mike Obioha, etc

From Okigwe zone came High Chief Anyanwu, Lady Chigozie Ihekire, High Chief Major Emenike, Lady Blessing Nwaoba, Chief Tony Asomugha, Barr Emma Nwosu,Barr Ebere Osuji, Chief Mrs Monica Anamekwe, Dr Ishmael Anyadiegwu, Onapuruagunwa, Dr Kelechi Okpalaeke etc.

The delegation from Owerri Zone under the auspices of Oganihu Owerri include Dr Vitalis Orikeze Ajumbe, Rt Hon Ernest Ibejiako, Chief Gibson Njemanze, Chief Mrs Angela Akunna, Oshieze Ikechukwu Emeyeonu, Prof AJ Njoku, Prof CC Nwachukwu, Sir Chibu Emwereuzor, Hon Austin Achilike, Dr Ethelbert Okere, Nze John Onuoha, Nze Napoleon Nwosu Chief Eboh Maduforo amongst others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here