Five members of the Imo State House of Assembly have been recalled.

 The recalled lawmakers were Chiji Collins (Isiala Mbano), Uche Oguwuike (Ikeduru), Ifeanyi Nnataraonye (Mbaitoli), Donatus Onuigwe (Oru West), and Kenna Nzeruo (Oru West).

They were recalled during plenary on Tuesday presided over the Speaker, Acho Ihim.

The Speaker said that the recalled lawmakers were invited for an interaction during an executive session after which their suspension was lifted.

Since last week, there has been drama in the House as members demanded for payment of their outstanding entitlements and benefits before handover

An Owerri High Court had on November 5, 2019 quashed the suspension slammed on the five members. The court had also jointly awarded the applicants — Dr. Uche Oguwuike (Ikeduru-APC); Mr. Chiji Collins (Isiala Mbano-APGA); Mr. Israel Nnataraonye (Mbaitoli-APC); and Mr. Nkenna Nzeruo (Oru East-APC) N8m in damages and N100,000 in legal fees.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here