Members of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, have boycotted proceedings at the State House of Assembly, to protest alleged pay cut of salaries and emoluments.

The seven PDP lawmakers are: Okey Onyekanma, Anyadike Nwosu, Frank Ugboma, Philip Ejiogu, Paschal Okorie, Tochi Okoro and Solomon Anukam.

There have been reports of slash in salaries of members of the State House of Assembly.

The leadership of the House is yet to confirm or dispel such reports.

This newspaper had reported last month that before the impeachment of the Speaker, Chiji Collins, the opposition lawmakers were livid with rage over such deductions in their pay.

A Committee was said to have been constituted to look into the allegations, but PDP lawmakers had complained that they were excluded from being members of such Committee.

The Imo State House of Assembly is dominated by members of the ruling All Progressive Congress, APC. 

This newspaper could not ascertain as at press time if members of the ruling party in the House are affected by the alleged pay cut, though the PDP lawmakers alleged that the deductions were shared by members of the ruling party



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here