The operational license of Imo Broadcasting Corporation, IBC, owners of Orient FM and Orient TV in Owerri has been revoked by the National Broadcasting Commission, NBC.

In a statement dated August 19, the licenses of 51 other broadcast stations were also revoked by the Commission.

According to the NBC, the revocation followed non payment of debts owed the commission by the affected stations.

The affected stations are Silverbird Television network, Rhythm FM stations in Abuja, Lagos, Yenagoa, Port Harcourt, Jos and Benin-City; AIT/Ray Power FM network; Greetings FM network; Tao FM, Okene; Zuma FM, Suleja; Crowther FM, Abuja; WeFM Benin; Classic FM, Abuja and Lagos and ClassicTV Lagos.

Others are  Beat FM Lagos, Splash FM, Ibadan; Rock City FM, Abeokuta, Family FM Ilogun; Space FM, Ibadan, Radio Jeremi Effurum, Breeze FM, Vibes FM, Family Love FM, and Wave FM.

States whose broadcast stations are also affected include Kogi, Kwara, Rivers, Niger Anambra, Kebbi, Lagos, Borno, Gombe, Osun, Ogun, Zamfara, Ondo, Bayelsa, Cross River, Sokoto, Jigawa, Kaduna, Katsina and Yobe.

In May this year, the NBC said it had published list of licensees who are indebted to it and gave such debtors two weeks within which to pay or have their licences withdrawn and frequencies reassigned.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here